Each year we announce a Make Water Work Champion Community based on the most pledges collected per capita. Help your community win the title!

The deadline for collecting pledges for our Champion Community is Sept. 3, 2019 with the winner announced at the Okanagan Basin Water Board Annual Meeting on Sept. 6, 2019.

Previous Community Champions:

2018 – City of Armstrong

Armstrong Mayor Chris Pieper receives congratulations from 2018 OBWB Chair & Kelowna City Coun. Tracy Gray for his city’s third win of the Make Water Work Champions title.

Gracious winner, Armstrong Mayor Chris Pieper, invited his fellow elected reps on stage at the OBWB’s Annual Meeting to be recognized for their communities’ efforts to conserve & ‘Make Water Work.’ He even brought gifts of Armstrong-made cheese, thinking he was going to have to make good on a bet if his community lost. (l to r) Osoyoos Mayor Sue McKortoff, City of Vernon Coun. Juliette Cunningham, West Kelowna Mayor Doug Findlater, City of Kelowna Coun. Tracy Gray, Pieper, and Peachland Mayor Cindy Fortin.

2017 – City of Armstrong

(l to r) OBWB Chair & Kelowna City Coun. Tracy Gray presents Armstrong Mayor Chris Pieper with a plaque at the board’s Annual Meeting, declaring Armstrong as 2017 Make Water Work Champions, with MWW program manager Corinne Jackson.

In 2017, Make Water Work garden centre partner Blue Mountain Nursery in Armstrong-Spallumcheen hosted a MWW Week event to promote WaterWise gardening and the MWW Plant Collection.

2016 – District of Peachland

2016 OBWB Chair and West Kelowna Mayor Doug Findlater presents Peachland Mayor Cindy Fortin with the “Make Water Work 2016 Champions” Award, recognizing the Okanagan community that collected the greatest number of pledges to conserve water and Make Water Work in 2016.

Peachland hosted its own Make Water Work event in 2016 to encourage outdoor water conservation, inviting Okanagan Xeriscape Assoc.’s Gwen Steele to provide WaterWise gardening tips, giving away plants from the Make Water Work Plant Collection, and more.

2015 – City of Armstrong

Armstrong Mayor Chris Pieper proudly shows off his community’s Make Water Work Championship title. Armstrong won the title with the most Make Water Work pledges collected per capita than any other Okanagan municipality in the valley.

As the hot, dry summer persisted and drought deepened in the Okanagan, Armstrong posted signs around town asking residents to help save water and not water lawns.

2014 – Town of Oliver

(l to r) Mayor Ron Hovanes accepts recognition for the Town of Oliver as “Make Water Work Champion 2014” from Okanagan Basin Water Board (OBWB) Executive Director Anna Warwick Sears, and OBWB Chair Doug Findlater. The Town of Oliver was recognized at the Water Board’s Annual Meeting.

The Town of Oliver’s Ryan Seiling out in the community, helping ensure the district follows WaterWise practices and encouraging residents to Make Water Work effectively and efficiently in their yards.